Rare diseases

Arthritis Australia announces 2019 research funding recipients 

Several Australian rheumatology researchers have been awarded Fellowships as part of the Arthritis Australia National Research Program for 2019.

  • Dr Mihir Dilip Wechalekar of the Department of Rheumatology, Flinders University, Adelaide, receives the $125,000 Bruce Miller-Australian Rheumatology Post-Doctoral Fellowship for a project: Improving outcomes in Rheumatoid Arthritis.
  • Dr Danae Papachristos of St Vincent’s Hospital, Melbourne receives the Ken Muirden Overseas Training Fellowship of $100,000, funded by the Australian Rheumatology Association, to work at the University of Toronto Lupus Clinic on the project: Clinical features, disease course and treatment outcomes of neuropsychiatric systemic lupus erythematosus (NPSLE) in a large cohort of patients at the University of Toronto Lupus Clinic.
  • Dr Jacqueline Flynn of Monash University, Melbourne, receives the AFA-ARA Heald Fellowship of $50,000 (Jointly funded by the Vincent Fairfax Family Foundation & the ARA)  for a project: Development of a novel SLE therapeutic.
  • Dr Meghna Talekar of the University of Queensland Diamantina Institute, receives the Arthritis Queensland Allen and Gwen Warren Fellowship of $50,000  for the project: Liposome Silica Hybrid Particles for Oral Delivery of Antigen Specific Therapy for Rheumatoid Arthritis.
  • Dr Kathleen Morrisroe of the Departments of Rheumatology and Medicine, the University of Melbourne and St Vincent’s Hospital, Melbourne receives the Victorian ARA Fellowship of $50,000  for her project: Developing a multi-disciplinary care model for a complex multi-organ disease.
  • The Leanne Stafford Award of $50 000, also funded by the ARA, goes to Dr Ken Cai of the Department of Medicine, University of Auckland, for a project: Gout Research Fellowship.

Details of other Arthritis Australia 2019 scholarships and project grants can be found here.

Already a member?

Login to keep reading.

Email me a login link

© 2022 the limbic