Renal physician to be next president-elect of RACP

Medical politics

By Michael Woodhead

30 Apr 2024

Dr Sharmila Chandran

Melbourne renal physician Dr Sharmila Chandran will be the next president-elect of the RACP after gaining the most votes in this year’s leadership election for the college that represents 30,000 physicians in Australia and New Zealand.

Provisional results released this week (link here) show that Dr Chandran received 756 votes in the ballot for president-elect, with a total of 2,360 votes cast between 15 March to 16 April 2024.

Other candidates were WA-based general/respiratory physician Professor Graeme Maguire (663 votes); Auckland oncologist Dr George Laking (422 votes); Christchurch immunologist and immunopathologist Dr John O’Donnell (302 votes) and Sydney haematologist Associate Professor Nada Hamad (217 votes).

As previously reported in the limbic, Dr Chandran campaigned on a platform of  transparency and pragmatism in the RACP leadership, with a focus on member communication, advocacy, and modernisation of the RACP.

“I bring a modern and diverse perspective and an informed commitment to RACP,” she said in her candidate profile.

“With your support, I am confident that RACP can be transformed into an institution that we all wish to be a part and proud of.”

Dr Chandran was also elected to one of two positions as a Member Director of the RACP, along with Associate Professor Nada Hamad.

Dr Aidan Tan was elected as Trainee Director.

The provisional results will be confirmed at the RACP’s Annual General Meeting to be held on Friday, 17 May 2024 in Sydney, after which the successful candidates will commence their terms.

Dr Chandran will serve as president-elect while former president-elect Professor Jennifer Martin takes over the College Presidency for the next year, following the recent early resignation of current President Dr Jackie Small.

Already a member?

Login to keep reading.

Email me a login link