Aussie specialist named to Endocrine Society board


By Geir O'Rourke

13 Mar 2024

The US-based Endocrine Society is set to get a second Australian representative on its board, following the election of Associate Professor Bruno Ferraz-de-Souza as director.

The University of Notre Dame researcher will take on the position from the ENDO 2024 meeting in June, joining fellow Western Australian academic Professor Bu Yeap, who became a director last year.

Each will hold positions for three years on the board, which is otherwise almost entirely comprised of senior clinicians from the US.

Associate Professor Ferraz-de-Souza is chair of UND medical school’s basic and clinical sciences domain and also honorary principal investigator and postgraduate supervisor in endocrinology at the University of Sao Paulo medical school in Brazil.

A/Prof Bruno Ferraz-de-Souza

His recent research is on the molecular bases of rare and common endocrinopathies, with a focus on bone metabolism. He is currently the associate editor for the Journal of the Endocrine Society and chair of the publication’s core committee.

And he served as chair of the committee on diversity and inclusion, according to a biography compiled by the society.

At the same time, Endocrine Society members elected Dr Carol Lange, PhD, of the University of Minnesota as 2025-2026 president.

She will serve as president-elect for a year beginning in June 2024 before becoming president in June 2025.

The Professor of Medicine and Molecular Pharmacology and Therapeutics, she holds the Tickle Family Land Grant Endowed Chair of Breast Cancer Research, and is the associate director for basic science and the director of the molecular, genetic, and cellular targets of cancer training program at the University of Minnesota Masonic Cancer Center in Minneapolis.

Her research focuses on the role of steroid hormone receptors in breast and ovarian cancers.

The society said: “She is a passionate mentor to trainees at all levels and has held many leadership positions within the Endocrine Society.”

“She is currently the editor-in-chief of the society’s journal, Endocrinology. During her term as the annual meeting steering committee basic science chair, she helped found the annual trainee day at ENDO, an event that fosters the next generation of endocrine researchers. She also received the society’s Sidney H. Ingbar Laureate Award for Distinguished Service to the Field of Endocrinology for all of her contributions.”

Already a member?

Login to keep reading.

Email me a login link