Cardiologists recognised in 2019 Honours List


7 Feb 2019

Prof John McNeil

Clinicians in cardiovascular medicine have been recognised in the 2019 Australia Day Honours List.

Professor John McNeil, Head of the Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine at Monash University, Melbourne, has been made an Officer in the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to medicine in the fields of clinical epidemiology and cardiovascular research, and to public health. Professor McNeil is Co-Principal Investigator for the ASPREE (ASPirin in Reducing Events in the Elderly) study and is also Head of the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine at Monash.

Adelaide cardiologist Professor John Beltrame has been awarded a Member (AM) in the General Division in the Order of Australia for significant service to cardiovascular medicine and to medical research and education. Professor Beltrame is also the Head of the Discipline of Medicine at The Queen Elizabeth Hospital and researcher at the Basil Hetzel Institute. He has an interest in translational research and has recently been involved in research into Coronary Slow Flow Phenomenon (CSFP).

Also in SA, Dr Bronte Ayres receives an AM for significant service to children’s charities, and to medicine as a cardiologist. Dr Ayres is a cardiologist at Ashford Hospital and former chair of the RACP.

In Queensland, Dr Paul Garrahy, director of cardiology at the Princess Alexandra Hospital receives an AM for significant service to medicine in the field of cardiology as a clinician, mentor, advocate and researcher. Dr Garrahy is the founder of the hospitals Cardiac Outreach Service for rural residents.

Also receiving an AM is Brisbane cardiologist Dr Roger Wilkinson for significant service to medicine as a cardiovascular surgeon, and to the community. A cardiologist at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, Dr Wilkinson is also president of the Queensland branch of the CSANZ

And Tasmanian cardiologist Associate Professor Don McTaggart becomes a AM for significant service to medicine as a cardiologist, and to the community of Launceston. As well as being director of cardiology at Launceston General Hospital, Professor McTaggart is chair of the CSANZ Tasmania region and was coordinator of the Advanced Training Committee.

Already a member?

Login to keep reading.

Email me a login link