Australia Day Honours announced for oncologists

Oncologists and other cancer healthcare professionals have been recognised in the 2022 Australia Day Honours List.

Professor Prue Francis of Victoria is recognised a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to medical research in the field of oncology, and to education. Professor Francis is Clinical Head of Breast Medical Oncology at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre and also a consultant Medical Oncologist at St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne.

Also recognised with an AM is radiation oncologist Professor Geoffrey Delaney of Sydney, for significant service to oncology and cancer services, and to tertiary education. Professor Delaney is Director of Cancer Services for the South Western Sydney Local Health District (SWSLHD), and Director of Liverpool Cancer Centre.

Other radiation oncologists recognised in the Honours List include Dr Graeme William Morgan (AM) of Sydney and Dr Marie Burke of Queensland, who is awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

Professor Margaret Turner, a psychiatrist at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital receives an AM  for significant service to medical research, to psychiatry and to psycho-oncology.

Dr Louise Farrell a gynaecologist in Perth receives an OAM for service to medicine in the field of oncology. Dr Farrell has an interest has been in colposcopy and the prevention of lower genital tract malignancies.

Emeritus Professor Les Irwig of Sydney receives an AM for significant service to tertiary education and to medicine as an epidemiologist. Professor Irwig has a special interest in the epidemiology of cancer screening including mammography, lung cancer screening and screening for cervical cancer.

Professor Mark Hertzberg of NSW is recognised with an AM for significant service to haematology, to tertiary education, and to research. Professor Hertzberg is Professor of Haematology at the University of NSW and the Head of Department at the Prince of Wales Hospital in Sydney and his clinical interests include lymphoma the molecular monitoring of malignant haematological disorders

Colleagues of Peter Mac cancer nurse consultant Ms Mary Duffy welcomed her award of an AM for significant service to medicine in the field of lung cancer.

Also receiving an AM are Mrs Jan Elizabeth Phillips of NSW for significant service to palliative care and oncology nursing, and Ms Helen Crowe of Armadale, Victoria for significant service to urology and oncology nursing, and to professional societies.

Already a member?

Login to keep reading.

Email me a login link

© 2023 the limbic