2 Aussie haematologists recognised with international awards

Wednesday, 15 Jul 2020

Dr Emmanuel Favaloro

Dr Emmanuel Favaloro and Professor Elizabeth Gardiner are two of five recipients of 2020 ISTH Esteemed Career Awards for significant contributions to the understanding, treatment and diagnosis, research and education in the thrombosis and haemostasis field.

“These individuals’ career contributions have significantly advanced the scientific community’s understanding or treatment of diseases and disorders that affect haemostasis. Their accomplishments are internationally regarded as exemplary models of research and mentoring excellence,” the ISTH said.

Dr Favaloro is the Principal Hospital Scientist at the Institute of Clinical Pathology and Medical Research, NSW Health Pathology at Westmead Hospital and an Adjunct Professor at Charles Sturt University.

He is a member and active participant in several ISTH Scientific and Standard Committee (SSC) Subcommittees, and is also Editor in Chief of Seminars in Thrombosis and Hemostasis.

“Dr Favaloro is internationally recognised expert in various thrombosis and haemostasis ‘topic’ areas – he was ranked first in Australia and in top 10 in the world for von Willebrand disease, lupus coagulation inhibitor, blood coagulation factor inhibitors and haemostasis,” his nomination read.

Professor Elizabeth Gardiner

Professor Gardiner is head of the ACRF Department of Cancer Biology and Therapeutics at the John Curtin School of Medical Research at the Australian National University, Canberra.

She is a current co-chair of the ISTH SSC Subcommittee on Biorheology and a past co-chair of the ISTH SSC Subcommittee on Vascular Biology. She currently serves as a member of the ISTH Council Committee on Membership and Communications and also served on the ISTH 2019 Congress Scientific Program Theme Committee.

She is also a principal Editor of the journal Platelets.

“Her core research uniquely identified and characterised a ligand-dependent, metalloproteinase-mediated shedding of the primary platelet receptor for collagen, glycoprotein (GP)VI. She expanded these studies of platelet receptor regulation, to examine how uncontrolled platelet activation (HIT, ITP, TTP) influences surface levels of the prothrombotic platelet receptors such as GPVI and GPIbα. Her research findings offer a new paradigm for understanding how receptor levels influence platelet reactivity, lifespan and survival,” her nomination said.

The other recipients of the 2020 ISTH Esteemed Career Awards are:

  • Dr Francis Castellino, director of the W.M. Keck Center for Transgene Research at the University of Notre Dame in the US.
  • Dr Andreas Greinacher, head of Transfusion Medicine and Thrombosis and Hemostasis Service at the University Medicine Greifswald in Germany.
  • Dr John Weisel, Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology in the Department of Cell and Developmental Biology at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine in the US.

Already a member?

Login to keep reading.

Email me a login link

© 2022 the limbic