Endocrinologists named in Queens Birthday Honours List

Several prominent clinicians and researchers in the field of endocrinology feature in the 2018 Queens Birthday Honours List

Prof Zacharin

Receiving a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) is Professor Margaret Zacharin of Victoria for service to medicine, particularly to paediatric endocrinology. Professor Zacharin is child and adult clinical endocrinologist at The Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne. Her research activities include growth and puberty disorders, management of primary bone disorders of children and those secondary to chronic disease, treatment of male and female hypogonadism, fertility problems, and long-term effects after childhood cancer.

Dr Simon Grant, an endocrinologist in Mittagong in the Southern Highlands of NSW also receives a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for services to medicine, particularly to endocrinology.

Research neuroendocrinologist Professor Iain Clarke, head of the Department of Physiology at Monash University, Melbourne is named as a Member in the General Division (AM) for significant service to medicine in the field of endocrinology and neuroendocrinology, and to medical research into reproductive biology. Professor Clarke’s research interest include the role of thermogenesis in obesity and also the role of hormones such as the gonadotropin-inhibitory hormone, in food intake and fertility.

Also receiving an AM is Geelong surgeon Professor David Watters for significant service to medicine and medical education in endocrine and colorectal surgery, and through leadership roles with professional organisations.

A long term member of the JDRF board, Rebecca Davies of NSW, is listed as an Officer in the General Division (AO) for distinguished service to the community, and to medical research, particularly in the areas of juvenile diabetes and heart health.

And a director of Diabetes Australia, Leo Tutt, becomes a Member in the General Division (AM) for significant service to community health, particularly to people with diabetes, through administrative and leadership roles, and to accounting. Mr Tutt is Chair of the Board of Directors of Diabetes NSW and ACT.

Already a member?

Login to keep reading.

Email me a login link

© 2022 the limbic